Home Sweet Miniature Home

After years of promising myself my very own Dolls House I now have two projects on the go
My first purchase was a fairly cheap model as I didn’t have much in the way of funds or space so this one fitted the bill at the time and it was a good move to practice on something not quite as adventurous as my second purchase which I couldn’t resist as it was greatly reduced…it did however sit in its box for another six years until I had the space and time to build it….all good things come to he or she that waits…of course by then the assembly instructions had gone walk about and it had warped a bit so it was an interesting build of the “hit it with a hammer” style of workmanship and make it up as you go along style of construction for which Charrisma will become well known. Both are ongoing projects to keep me entertained for many years to come…Im sure my bank balance shall be none the better for the experience but we wont mention that to the grumpy old man!

This is Bouverie Bistro my first venture into the world of miniature
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It is undergoing a bit of a revamp at the moment with a decision to change its exterior from cream and blue to a trendy urban chic style of Bistro in shades of grey. Christian Grey may of course be found in the hotel next door but that is a different story all together!  A cool grey frontage with gunmetal grey window surrounds and a gloss black signboard with gold lettering.

The ground floor shop is to be a Bistro/Deli affair with smart white kitchen/prep area open to the customer. Mirror tiles reflect the light and three working lights illuminate a row of wrought iron café tables. I still have to source and fill the food cabinets but the framework is all in place to start stocking my pattiserie cabinets and food counters.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Upstairs the flat will continue in the elegant grey theme with dark wood floors , a bit of a Kelly Hoppen influence going on here I think.. and some experiments with mirrors to give optical illusions of light and space. .

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

more of this detail to follow…I just want to give you a little taste of the “Bouverie Bistro” for now!

My real lifetime project will I think be the  “Manor House”…it doesn’t have a name as yet but it is a Georgian house being transformed into a luxury hotel, so rather a lot of bedrooms going on, of course they will all end up with luxury ensuites but the Architect and builders are still planning how that will be achieved!

I still have rather a lot of exterior fitting , window painting etc to do but with the poetic licence that can only be achieved in miniature I have moved onto the interior design projects and started on some of the rooms already…I will come back with more detail on each room as time goes on but here is a snapshot of work to date

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Dining Room, featuring a Chandelier that I have hand beaded myself and some beautiful ceiling paintings and wall panelling. The table is fully dressed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hand made curtains and pelmets using coordinated Tilda fabrics, lovely tiny designs just perfect for miniature work

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cheap bits of furniture revamped with gold paint and reupholstered in cream and gold brocade for a sumptious luxury boutique hotel style!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA and of course every hotel needs a Bridal Four Poster Bed and a Bridal Suite

Do keep checking back and see where I am with my “Home Sweet Miniature Home”

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a comment